What is Constitution Day?

Established in 2004, Constitution Day recognizes the anniversary of when the United States Constitution was adopted back on September 17, 1787.

Constitution Day Event 2020

Constitution Day Constitutional Questions at Every Corner: Federal Response to the Portland Protests

Thursday, September 17th 12pm (Virtual Event)



Below you will find several links that you can follow for more information about the founding of the US government, who represents you in Congress, and how you can participate in government.

The Constitution

For more information about Constitution Day:


For information about the Founding Fathers:

Biographical information about each of the signers of the Constitution



For information about the Declaration of Independence, Constitution, and Bill of Rights:

Library of Congress’s Constitutional Convention Documents http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/continental/

Read the Declaration of Independence http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/declaration.html

School House Rock – The Preamble http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=yHp7sMqPL0g

Read the Constitution http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution.html

Read the Bill of Rights  http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/bill_of_rights.html

The Federal Government

For more information about the executive branch:

The White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/

For more information about the legislative branch:

The United States Senate http://www.senate.gov/index.htm

The United States House of Representatives http://www.house.gov/

School House Rock – I’m just a bill http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-eYBZFEzf8

For more information about the judicial branch:

The Supreme Court http://www.supremecourt.gov/

The Oyez Project http://www.oyez.org/

Becoming a more involved citizen

Rock the Vote http://www.rockthevote.org/

Register to vote in Oregon http://oregonvotes.org/pages/voterresources/regtovote/index.html


Oregon’s Congressional Representatives


Jeff Merkley

Ron Wyden


Suzanne Bonamici

Greg Walden

Earl Blumenauer

Peter DeFazio

Kurt Shrader