– Deadlines Extended –

Due to the delay in FAFSA data being supplied to the University of Oregon, the UO is extending the confirmation deadline to June 1, 2024, for first-year students admitted for fall 2024. We are also extending the priority FAFSA filing deadline to April 1, 2024, for all UO students.

National Merit Scholarship

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), in conjunction with the UO, awards merit scholarships to selected academically talented high school seniors for undergraduate studies at the University of Oregon.

Award Information

Prospective freshmen who have been awarded College-Sponsored Finalist standing, and who have listed the University of Oregon as their "first choice" school on the NMSC Scholarship Application, are eligible to receive an $8,000 National Merit Scholarship at the UO—$2,000 per year, renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Eligibility Requirements

High school juniors from U.S. high schools who take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT ) are eligible for the Merit Scholarship Competition.

How to Apply

Students who are selected by the NMSC as Semifinalists must complete a detailed scholarship application. Application instructions are sent directly from the NMSC to qualified Semifinalists through their high schools.

Qualified Finalists must apply for admission to the University of Oregon by January 15.

Selection Criteria

Semifinalists compete to become a Finalist by completing the NMSC scholarship application, exhibiting high academic performance, and meeting all other requirements explained in information provided to each Semifinalist by the NMSC.

Scholarship Renewal

College-Sponsored National Merit Scholars who maintain a 3.25 UO GPA are eligible to renew their scholarships for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Award Notification

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation begins notifying finalists of their awards in early April.